Convention du 15 juin 1955 sur la loi applicable aux ventes à caractère international d'objets mobiliers corporels

Informations générales

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date de signature:
  3. Lieu de signature: The Hague, The Netherlands
  4. Dépositaire:
  5. Date d’entrée en vigueur: 01/09/1964

Catégorie

Contrats

Sous-catégorie

Conflits de loi

Groupes

HCCH

De quoi s’agit-il?

Cet instrument, qui vise à établir des dispositions communes concernant la loi applicable à la formation et à l’exécution des contrats de vente internationale, est destiné à être remplacé par la Convention sur la loi applicable aux contrats de vente internationale de marchandises (La Haye, 22 décembre 1986). Il prévoit que la vente internationale est régie en priorité par la loi interne du pays désigné par les parties au contrat. En cas de défaut de choix, la loi applicable est celle du pays où le vendeur a sa résidence habituelle au moment où il reçoit la commande, sauf si la commande a été reçue dans le pays de résidence habituelle de l’acheteur, auquel cas la loi de ce dernier s’applique. S’il s’agit d’un marché de bourse ou d’une vente aux enchères, la vente est régie par la loi interne du pays où se trouve la bourse ou dans lequel sont effectuées les enchères. Sont exclues des dispositions de cette convention les ventes de titres, de navires, d’aéronefs et les ventes sur saisie.

Intérêt de ce texte

Le faible succès de cette convention a conduit à l’adoption de la Convention sur la loi applicable aux contrats de vente internationale de marchandises (La Haye, 22 décembre 1986), qui traite du même domaine et qui est destinée à la remplacer.

Informations complémentaires

L’application de la loi déterminée par cette convention peut être écartée par un Etat Partie pour un motif d’ordre public. Lorsqu’un Etat a ratifié la Convention sur la loi applicable aux contrats de vente internationale de marchandises (La Haye, 22 décembre 1986), il cesse d’être Partie à la présente Convention.

 

CountryRatification date
Danemark03/07/1964
Finlande03/07/1964
France30/07/1963
Italie17/03/1958
Niger11/10/1971
Norvège03/07/1964
Suède08/07/1964
Suisse29/08/1972
 

YearRatifications
19581
19631
19645
19711
19721
 
Contact Us

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 13252624 bytes) in /var/www/html/legacarta/wp-includes/functions.php on line 440

Convention of 15 June 1955 on the law applicable to international sales of goods

General Detail

General Information

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date of signature:
  3. Place of signature: The Hague, The Netherlands
  4. Depositary:
  5. Date of entry into force: 01/09/1964

Category

Contracts

Sub category

Conflict of laws

Groups

HCCH

What is it about?

This instrument defines the law applicable to international sales contracts. It has largely been replaced by the Convention on the Law Applicable to Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Hague, 22 December 1986). According to the Convention the parties themselves may determine the law governing a contract of sale. If no law is specifically chosen, the contract is governed by the law of the State where the seller is established at the time of the conclusion of the contract, unless the contract was concluded in the State of the buyer, which requires the contract to be governed by the law of that State. In case of a sale at an exchange or at a public auction, the domestic law of the country in which the exchange is situated or the auction takes place governs the sale. The Convention does not apply to sales of securities, to sales of ships and of registered boats or aircraft, or to sales upon judicial order or by way of execution.

Why is it relevant?

The weak success of this Convention led to the adoption of the Convention on the Law Applicable to Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Hague, 22 December 1986), which addresses the same subject and is destined to replace the present instrument.

Additional Information

The application of the law determined by this Convention may be excluded on grounds of public policy. A State Party to the Convention on the Law Applicable to Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Hague, 22 December 1986) automatically ceases being a party to the present Convention.

Download

Country ratifications

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Treaties analysis

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Map

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Contact Us

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt