Convention pour l'unification de certaines règles en matière de connaissement

Informations générales

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date de signature:
  3. Lieu de signature: Brussels, Belgium
  4. Dépositaire:
  5. Date d’entrée en vigueur: 02/06/1931

Catégorie

Transport et telecommunications

Sous-catégorie

Transport maritime

Groupes

MISC

De quoi s’agit-il?

Cet instrument, également connu sous le nom de « règles de La Haye », s’applique aux contrats de transport de marchandises par mer lorsque celui-ci est effectué dans le cadre d’un connaissement ou de tout autre titre de transport similaire. Il établit le régime de responsabilité des transporteurs pour tout dommage survenu aux marchandises transportées sur leurs navires, de leur chargement à leur déchargement.

Intérêt de ce texte

Cette convention est le principal instrument international édictant des règles relatives à la responsabilité des transporteurs pour les dommages causés aux marchandises transportées par voie maritime. La Convention des Nations Unies sur le transport de marchandises par mer (Hambourg, 31 mars 1978), également connue sous le nom de « règles de Hambourg », a été adoptée pour supplanter la Convention de Bruxelles de 1924 et ainsi unifier les règles relatives au transport de marchandises par mer. Le faible nombre d’Etats l’ayant ratifiée a néanmoins contribué à la création d’un double régime juridique applicable en matière de transport de marchandises par mer (les règles de Hambourg venant concurrencer celles de La Haye), posant des problèmes d’unité du droit international.

Informations complémentaires

Le Protocole de Bruxelles, adopté en 1968 et communément appelé « règles Hague-Visby », a profondément remanié la Convention de Bruxelles de 1924. La limite de responsabilité du transporteur en cas de préjudice a été portée à 666, 67 unités de compte par colis (environ 970 dollars US) ou 2 unités de compte par kilogramme (environ 2,64 dollars US), la limite la plus élevée entre les deux étant applicable. Cette limitation de responsabilité ne s’applique pas si le transporteur a eu l’intention de provoquer les dommages ayant causé le préjudice ou lorsqu’il savait que ces dommages résulteraient probablement de ses actions. Les Etats ratifiant le Protocole de Bruxelles de 1968 deviennent automatiquement Parties à la Convention de Bruxelles de 1924. Les principales différences entre les règles de Hambourg et celles de La Haye (telles qu’amendées par le Protocole de Bruxelles de 1968) sont les suivantes: Règles de Hambourg: Règles de La Haye, amendées par le Protocole de Bruxelles de 1968: . Elles s’appliquent à tous les contrats de transport de marchandises par mer entre deux Etats, à l’exception des contrats d’affrètement. . Elles s’appliquent au transport de marchandises par mer effectué dans le cadre d’un connaissement.. Responsabilité du transporteur en cas de préjudice: 835 SDRs (environ 1210 USD) ou 2.5 SDRs par kilo (environ 3,3 USD par kilogramme) . Responsabilité du transporteur en cas de préjudice: 666,67 SDRs par colis (environ 970 USD) ou 2 SDRs par kilogramme (environ 2,64 USD par kilogramme).

 

CountryRatification date
Algérie13/04/1964
Allemagne01/07/1939
Angola02/02/1952
Antigua-et-Barbuda02/12/1930
Argentine19/04/1961
Équateur23/03/1977
États-Unis d`Amérique29/06/1937
Bahamas02/12/1930
Barbade02/12/1930
Belgique02/06/1930
Belize02/12/1930
Bolivie (État plurinational de)28/05/1982
Cameroun02/12/1930
Cap-Vert02/02/1952
Cap-Vert02/02/1952
Côte d'Ivoire15/12/1961
Chypre02/12/1930
Congo, République démocratique. du17/07/1967
Croatie08/10/1991
Cuba25/07/1977
Espagne02/06/1930
Fidji02/12/1930
France04/01/1937
Gambie02/12/1930
Ghana02/12/1930
Grèce23/03/1993
Grenade02/12/1930
Guinée-Bissau02/02/1952
Guyana, République du02/12/1930
Hongrie02/06/1930
Iran, République islamique d`26/04/1966
Irlande30/01/1962
Israël05/09/1959
Jamaïque02/12/1930
Kenya02/12/1930
Kiribati02/12/1930
Koweït25/07/1969
Liban19/07/1975
Madagascar13/07/1965
Malaisie02/12/1930
Maurice24/08/1970
Monaco15/05/1931
Mozambique02/02/1952
Nauru04/07/1955
Nigeria02/12/1930
Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée04/07/1955
Paraguay22/11/1967
Pérou29/10/1964
Pologne04/08/1937
Portugal24/12/1931
République Dominicaine02/12/1930
République-Unie de Tanzanie03/12/1962
Saint-Christophe et Niévès02/12/1930
Saint-Vincent et les Grenadines02/12/1930
Sainte-Lucie02/12/1930
Salomon, ÃŽles02/12/1930
Sâo Tomé e Príncipe02/12/1952
Sénégal14/02/1978
Seychelles02/12/1930
Sierra Leone02/12/1930
Singapour02/12/1930
Slovénie25/06/1991
Somalie02/12/1930
Sri Lanka02/12/1930
Suisse28/05/1954
Syrienne, République arabe01/08/1974
Timor-Leste02/02/1952
Tonga02/12/1930
Trinité-et-Tobago02/12/1930
Turquie04/07/1955
Tuvalu02/12/1930
 

YearRatifications
193032
19312
19373
19391
19526
19541
19553
19591
19612
19622
19642
19651
19661
19672
19691
19701
19741
19751
19772
19781
19821
19912
19931
 
Contact Us

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 28252667 bytes) in /var/www/html/legacarta/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1102

International Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules of Law relating to Bills of Lading [Hague Rules]

General Information

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date of signature:
  3. Place of signature: Brussels, Belgium
  4. Depositary:
  5. Date of entry into force: 02/06/1931

Category

Transport and telecommunications

Sub category

Maritime transport

Groups

MISC

What is it about?

Also known as the Hague Rules, this instrument applies to contracts for the carriage of goods by sea that are evidenced by a bill of lading or a similar document of title. It covers the period of time when the goods are located on the ship to the time they are discharged from it. It establishes the responsibilities and liabilities of the carrier on international carriage of goods by sea.

Why is it relevant?

This Convention is the main international treaty establishing the responsibilities and liabilities of the carrier on international carriage of goods by sea. The United Nations Convention on the Carriage of Goods by Sea (Hamburg 31/03/1978), also known as the Hamburg Rules, was intentionally drafted to unify the rules on maritime transport. Nevertheless, the Hamburg Rules did not have substantial adhesion, creating a dual regime of law concerning the carriage of goods by sea, led both by the Hamburg Rules and the Hague Rules, resulting in an on-going disunification of the international maritime law.

Additional Information

The 1968 Brussels Protocol, popularly known as the Hague-Visby Rules added and replaced many articles of this Convention. According to this Protocol, the limit of liability for loss or damage amounts to 666.67 Special Drawing Rights (SDRs) per package, approximately 970.00 USD, or 2 SDRs per kilogram, approximately 1.32 USD per pound, whichever is higher. However, there is no liability limit if the carrier’s conduct shows intent to cause such loss or damage, or was reckless, knowing that such loss or damage would probably result. Ratification of this Protocol has the effect of accession to the Brussels Convention. The major differences between the Hamburg Rules and the Hague Rules, amended by the 1968 Brussels Protocol are the following: Hamburg Rules: Hague Rules, amended by the 1968 Brussels Protocol: . Applies to all contracts for the carriage of goods by sea between two States, except for charter parties. . Applies to contracts for the carriage of goods by sea that are evidenced by a bill of lading. . Liability limit for loss or damage: 835 SDRs (approx. 1,210.00 USD) or 2.5 SDRs per kilogram (approx. 1.65 USD per pound), whichever is higher . Liability for loss of damage: 666.67 SDRs per package (approx. 970.00 USD) or 2 SDRs per kilogram (approx. 1.32 per pound), whichever is higher.

Download

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Restricted content, please sign in for view.