Convention du 22 décembre 1986 sur la loi applicable aux contrats de vente internationale de marchandises

Informations générales

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date de signature:
  3. Lieu de signature: The Hague, The Netherlands
  4. Dépositaire:
  5. Date d’entrée en vigueur: N/A

Catégorie

Contrats

Sous-catégorie

Conflits de loi

Groupes

HCCH

De quoi s’agit-il?

Cet instrument a pour objet l’unification des règles de conflit de lois relatives aux contrats de vente internationale de marchandises. Il s’applique lorsque les parties à un contrat ont leur établissement dans des Etats différents ou dans tous les autres cas où la situation donne lieu à un conflit entre les lois de différents Etats. Sont exclues de ses dispositions certaines catégories de ventes telles les ventes sur saisie, les ventes au consommateur et les ventes de valeurs mobilières. La Convention pose pour principe que les ventes internationales sont régies par la loi choisie par les parties au contrat. En cas d’absence de choix, la vente est régie par la loi de l’Etat dans lequel le vendeur a son établissement au moment de la conclusion du contrat. Il existe néanmoins trois exceptions à cette règle : la vente est régie par la loi de l’Etat dans lequel l’acheteur a son établissement au moment de la conclusion du contrat si des négociations ont été menées et le contrat a été conclu par les parties présentes dans cet Etat, si le vendeur doit exécuter son obligation de livraison des marchandises dans cet Etat ou si la vente a été conclue suite à un appel d’offres. Cette convention est destinée à remplacer la Convention sur la loi applicable aux ventes à caractère international d’objets mobiliers corporels (La Haye, 15 juin 1955).

Intérêt de ce texte

Cette Convention permet de savoir à l’avance quel sera le droit applicable aux contrats et de prévoir comment seront réglées les questions relatives à l’exécution, à l’inexécution et à la fin des contrats internationaux. Cette convention permet donc une plus grande sécurité juridique ainsi que la prévention de conflits de lois relatifs aux contrats. Son impact est néanmoins limité compte tenu du faible nombre d’Etats l’ayant ratifiée.

Informations complémentaires

En ratifiant cet instrument, un Etat cesse d’être Partie à la Convention sur la loi applicable aux ventes à caractère international d’objets mobiliers corporels (La Haye, 15 juin 1955). Les dispositions de la présente convention peuvent être écartées pour un motif d’ordre public.

 

CountryRatification date
Argentine04/10/1991
Moldavie, République de24/12/1997
 

YearRatifications
19911
19971
 
Contact Us

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 28252667 bytes) in /var/www/html/legacarta/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1102

Convention of 22 December 1986 on the Law Applicable to Contracts for the International Sale of Goods

General Information

  1. Type: Convention
  2. Date of signature:
  3. Place of signature: The Hague, The Netherlands
  4. Depositary:
  5. Date of entry into force: N/A

Category

Contracts

Sub category

Conflict of laws

Groups

HCCH

What is it about?

This instrument aims to unify the choice of law rules relating to contracts for the international sale of goods. The Convention determines the law applicable to contracts of sale of goods between parties having their places of business in different States and in all other cases involving a choice between the laws of different States. The Convention does not apply to certain categories of sales, such as sales by way of execution or otherwise by authority of law, consumer sales, or sales of stocks, shares, investment securities, negotiable instruments or money. It is a basic principle of the Convention, that international sales are regulated by the law chosen by the parties to the contract. In the event of an absence of choice, the sale is governed by the law of the state where the seller has his place of business at the time of conclusion of the contract. However, the contract is governed by the law of the state where the buyer has his place of business at the time of conclusion of the contract, if negotiations were conducted and the contract was concluded in that state by and in the presence of the parties, or if the contract provides expressly that the seller must perform his obligation to deliver the goods in that state, or if the contract was concluded on terms determined mainly by the buyer and in response to an invitation directed by the buyer to persons invited to bid. This Convention is designed to replace the Hague Convention of 15 June 1955 on the Law Applicable to International Sales of Goods.

Why is it relevant?

This Convention allows parties to a contract to foresee the applicable law related to the execution, or the non-execution of an international agreement. The Convention allows for increased legal predictability as well as prevents a conflict of laws related to sales. Its impact is nevertheless limited to the small number of States having ratified this instrument.

Additional Information

By ratifying this instrument, a State ceases to be a party to the Convention on the Law Applicable to International Sales of Goods (Hague, 15 June 1955). The application of a law determined by the Convention may be refused where such application would be manifestly incompatible with public policy (ordre public).

Download

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Restricted content, please sign in for view.

Restricted content, please sign in for view.